Jan 22, 2012; Champaign, IL, USA; Illinois Fighting Illini fans during the second half against the Wisconsin Badgers at Assembly Hall. Wisconsin won 67-63. Mandatory Credit: Bradley Leeb-US PRESSWIRE

Welcome to Writing Illini; a site dedicated to the University of Illinois. Writing Illini brings you the latest news on everything about Illinois Fighting Illini sports.

Lead Editor

Ricky WidmerTwitter | Facebook | E-mail


Ryan Kraemer - Twitter | Facebook

Staff Writers

Austin Jabs - Twitter | Facebook

Rees WoodcockTwitter | Facebook

Aaron RenchTwitter

You! - Yes, you are one of the staff writers at Writing Illini. Well, not yet exactly. You see, Writing Illini is looking for staff writers who are knowledgeable in any Illinois Fighting Illini sport. We want to hear your voice on the site, and the only way we can hear it is if you show your interest and send Ricky an e-mail. All we ask of you is to produce high quality content at least twice a week, and it really doesn’t matter what you write about (Illini-related of course, we don’t care about the Iris). I can’t be the only voice on Writing Illini, and this is where the all-important staff writer comes in.

FanSided Founders

Adam Best, FanSided co-founder/senior editor – Best co-founded the site in the Spring of 2007. He has covered sports and entertainment (currently at FlickSided.com) for various publications and sources, including a weekly NFL feature to FOX Sports during the 2008 season. Best also serves as the senior editor of the FanSided.com network. Email: [email protected]

Zach Best, FanSided co-founder/webmaster – Best co-founded the site in the Spring of 2007. He’s an educator, entrepreneur, football coach and web designer. Best also serves as the director of business operations of the FanSided.com network. Email: [email protected]


This site is strictly for informational and entertainment purposes, and is in no way affiliated with the University of Illinois or the National College Athletic Association. It also claims no rights to the trademarks of either University of Illinois or the NCAA.