Mar 23, 2013; Des Moines, IA, USA; Jesse Delgado of Illinois (blue and orange) celebrates his win over Nicholas Magaludis of Penn State (in blue) in the 125 lb finals in the NCAA wrestling Division I championship at Wells Fargo Arena. Delgado beat Magaludis 7-4. Mandatory Credit: Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

Jesse Delgado and Jannelle Flaws Named Dike Eddleman Athletes of the Year

On Thursday, the University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics announced that Jesse Delgado (wrestling) and Jannelle Flaws (soccer) would take home the 2013-14 Dike Eddleman Athlete of the Year awards.

The Dike Eddleman Awards are given annually to the top Illini male and female athletes. The winners are selected via a vote by the Illinois head coaches and athletics administrators.

Delgado becomes the eighth Illinois wrestler to win the Dike Eddleman award as Flaws becomes only the second soccer player. The last wrestler to win the award was Matt Lackey in 2003, and the last soccer play to win it was Leisha Alcia in 2004.

Jesse Delgado arguably had the best season of any Illinois athlete this season. That’s because he was able to win the 2014 NCAA Championship and becoame Illinois’ first back-to-back nation champion in 56 years.

He went 30-2 and led the wrestling team with 80 dual points.

As for Jannelle Flaws, she was one of the main offensive weapons for the Fighting Illini this past soccer season.

Flaws led the entire nation with 23 goals this season with broke the previous Illinois record of 18 by Emily Brown in 1999.

She scored in 15 of Illinois’ 23 games and was a big reason why Illinois made it to the Sweet 16 in the NCAA Tournament.

As Dick Eddleman winners, Jesse Delgado and Jannelle Flaws will be the nominees for the Fighting Illini for the Big Ten Athlete of the Year awards.

Want more from Writing Illini?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix.
Enter your email and stay in the know.

Next Fighting Illini Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov8:00at Ohio State BuckeyesBuy Tickets

Tags: Dick Eddleman Athlete Of The Year Illinois Fighting Illini Jannelle Flaws Jesse Delgado

comments powered by Disqus