Dec 1, 2012; Indianapolis, IN, USA; Wisconsin Badgers running back Montee Ball (28) runs past Nebraska Cornhuskers cornerback Andrew Green (11) during the Big Ten championship game at Lucas Oil Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports

Football: Writing Illini's Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year

There are too many choices one could make for Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year.

One could choose: Braxton Miller (Ohio State), Matt McGloin (Penn State), Le’Veon Bell (Michigan State), Allen Robinson (Penn State), or Montee Ball (Wisconsin).

Although, my pick for Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year would be running back, Montee Ball, from the Wisconsin Badgers.

Ball won this award for me in the Big Ten Championship game against the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

Wisconsin was not the favorite coming into the Big Ten Championship. Without sanctions in the Big Ten, they would not have been in that game. However, they were because both Ohio State and Penn State could not play in the 2012 Big Ten Championship game.

Ball made a statement in that game as he ran for 202 yards on 21 carries while scoring three touchdowns. The only game where he ran for more yards was against the Purdue Boilermakers, but Nebraska is not Purdue. The Cornhuskers were the favorite and Montee Ball made them look silly on defense (even though he did not do it alone).

Ball has also looked good the entire season. He has 1,730 rushing yards this season which is the most in the Big Ten and fourth in the FBS. He had nine games where he rushed for over a hundred yards and two games over 200-yards. He also is tied for fifth in the FBS with 21 rushing touchdowns this season (most in the Big Ten).

Montee Ball has been a very consistent running back for the Badgers this season and is clearly the best offensive player in the Big Ten.

Make sure to follow me on Twitter @RickyWidmer.

Next Fighting Illini Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct11:00Minnesota Golden GophersBuy Tickets

Tags: Big Ten Football Montee Ball Offensive Player Of The Year Wisconsin Badgers

comments powered by Disqus